## ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Town House, ABERDEEN, 2 July 2018

## MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

#### Sederunt:

Lord Provost Barney Crockett, <u>Chairperson</u>; Depute Provost Alan Donnelly; and

## COUNCILLORS

YVONNE ALLAN CHRISTIAN ALLARD ALISON ALPHONSE PHILIP BELL MARIE BOULTON DAVID CAMERON JOHN COOKE **NEIL COPLAND** WILLIAM CORMIE STEVEN DELANEY JACQUELINE DUNBAR LESLEY DUNBAR SARAH DUNCAN STEPHEN FLYNN **GORDON GRAHAM ROSS GRANT** MARTIN GREIG **DELL HENRICKSON** RYAN HOUGHTON **BRETT HUNT** MICHAEL HUTCHISON **CLAIRE IMRIE** 

FREDDIE JOHN JENNIFER LAING DOUGLAS LUMSDEN SANDRA MACDONALD **NEIL MacGREGOR AVRIL MacKENZIE CATRIONA MacKENZIE** ALEXANDER McLELLAN CIARÁN McRAE M. TAUQEER MALIK THOMAS MASON MSP ALEXANDER NICOLL JAMES NOBLE JOHN REYNOLDS **GILLIAN SAMARAI** PHILIP SELLAR JENNIFER STEWART SANDY STUART **GORDON TOWNSON** JOHN WHEELER and IAN YUILL

Lord Provost Barney Crockett, in the Chair

The agenda and reports associated with this minute can be found here.

Please note that if any changes are made to this minute at the point of approval, these will be outlined in the subsequent minute and this document will not be retrospectively altered.

### **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

**1.** Councillor Mason MSP declared an interest as a Member of the Scottish Parliament for North East Scotland.

### **REVIEW OF COMMUNITY COUNCIL GOVERNANCE - GOV/18/022**

2. With reference to Article 2 of the minute of its special meeting of 5 March 2018, the Council had before it a report by the Chief Officer - Governance which presented the responses received during the second phase of public consultation and the final version of the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils including boundary changes for various Community Councils for formal adoption.

# The report recommended:-

that the Council -

- (a) adopt the Scheme and associated documents as set out in Appendices 1 to 6 to the report:
- (b) adopt the change to Community Council boundaries which had received agreement with neighbouring Community Councils as outlined in Appendix 7 to the report;
- (c) adopt proposal 1 for the boundary change between Bucksburn and Newhills and Dyce and Stoneywood Community Councils as outlined in section 3.6 of the report;
- (d) adopt proposal 1 for the boundary change between City Centre and Ferryhill and Ruthrieston Community Councils as outlined in section 3.7 of the report;
- (e) note the content of the consultation responses and resulting actions as outlined in Appendix 8 to the report;
- (f) approve the issue of a public notice notifying members of the public that the Scheme and associated documents had been adopted; and
- (g) note that the Scheme would come into effect just prior to the Community Council Triennial Elections due to be held in October 2018.

## The Council resolved:-

- (i) to approve the recommendations; and
- (ii) to commend the report author, Mrs Finch, for her work in this area.
- BARNEY CROCKETT, Lord Provost.